Skip to content

Good food: Eat your greens

November 17, 2013

I know kale is so yesterday’s news, and there’s a new “hip” superfood all the time. (Swiss chard?) But I’m just getting my arms around how to eat this one. I admit, I’m not a huge fan of just eating it straight up. It’s a bit chewy, a bit green-y. Here are my two favorite ways to eat (read: hide the taste of) kale.

Kale Chips

I’ve loved friends’ kale chips, but every time I try to make them in the oven they come out sub-par. I seem to always over-oil or over-cook them. So, when I came across this last week, I just had to try it: kale chips in the microwave. So very easy. And they turned out perfectly.

******

Kale in a Smoothie

Some months ago, we bought this handy little blender and have been making some great shakes and smoothies in it. I like to hide my greens in a berry/banana smoothie. Here’s my recipe:

  • 1 ripe banana
  • A few handfuls of frozen berries. I like blueberries and raspberries. It’s important that the berries are frozen. It really enhances the texture of the smoothie, especially when you’re putting some grainy greens in it, too.
  • Handful of kale and/or spinach
  • 1/2 cup apple juice
  • 1/2 cup water

Blend and drink!

[Top image via http://www.muranakafarm.com]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

