Skip to content

And the little one said, “Roll over, I’m crowded…”

May 25, 2013

When we were in Chicago, we stayed in my sister-in-law’s lovely new condo. Since J is out of a crib at home, we decided to share the queen sized bed in the guest room with him. We put him to bed in the middle, surrounded by pillows, and hoped he left us a little room to crawl in later. (The second night, I admit, I went to sleep at 9pm with him.) It worked out fine for two nights. We were a bit cramped, but there’s something kind of nice about sleeping so close to your little person.

It got me thinking about a post I’d read on A Cup of Jo a few weeks ago about a family of five who co-sleeps. I know the topic of co-sleeping or sleep sharing is controversial, but many parents choose it as the best option for their family in the early days — or do it out of desperation with a non-sleeping infant. I never considered the idea of continuing to co-sleep as the children grew older. The set up looks cozy and a bit crowded, and seems to work for this family. I, on the other hand, was relieved to be back in my own bed when we got home.

Here’s a dad’s funny take on co-sleeping positions. (We definitely experienced the “H is for Hell” during our trip.)

[top image via thelittlehendhouse.com; second image via here]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

