Skip to content

How great is the new Gatsby?

May 7, 2013

Anyone else excited about the opening of the new Great Gatsby movie this Friday? Gatsby is one of my all-time favorite books, and I pulled it off the shelf today to do a re-read before I see the movie. My version is marked up with all sorts of notes from high school and/or college classes. Reading it should take me straight back in time.

It’s probably dangerous for me to be excited about the movie when I love the book so much. Movies are never as good as the book. But, the movie has one thing going for it: it can’t be as bad as the 1974 version with Robert Redford and Mia Farrow. I remember watching that version in my high school classroom and being sorely disappointed. Maybe it was the grainy VHS tape and small TV.

Here’s an old vs. new comparison with Nick, Gatsby and Daisy.

We’ll see how the new actors pull it off. Not to mention the new director. Baz Luhrmann did the 1996 Romeo and Juliet with Claire Danes and Leonardo DiCaprio (which I loved — more high school nostalgia), so this rather intense and in-your-face trailer isn’t a surprise.

Now, after all my excitement, if I can just manage to make it to the movie theatre before it goes to Netflix.

[image via nymag.com]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

