Skip to content

Warby Parker experiment (Style update, part 2)

April 12, 2013

Last week, I posted about my style update and plan to try out Warby Parker, a (cool and trendy) mail order prescription glasses company. If you’re unfamiliar, here’s a little about the company, including why glasses are only $95 and where the name Warby Parker came from.

I selected five pairs of glasses for a free home try on. The home try on experience has its pros and cons. On the up side, I hung out in a pair of glasses for an extended period of time, getting the feel for them on my head and catching myself in the mirror at different angles. I also tried each pair multiple times with different clothes and hair. On the down side, all that time made me indecisive.

Your five pairs of glasses arrive in this fancy box, with a free return-shipping label for sending them back.

IMG_6497

Here are my selections:

Ballard in Striped Chestnut

IMG_6526

Sinclair in Greystone

IMG_6528

Percey in Striped Sassafras

IMG_6529

Ainsworth in Striped Chestnut

IMG_6530

Chandler in Pinot Noir

IMG_6533

If you click on any of the links above, you can do your own “virtual try on” by uploading a picture of yourself to the Warby Parker website. This was funny, but not incredibly helpful in determining how the glasses would actually look.

After taking them in and out of the box many times, I’ve settled on the Ballard – maybe. During check out, you can decide if you want to enter your prescription yourself or if you want Warby Parker to contact your eye doctor for you. You can also order non-prescription glasses or reading glasses.

Looking forward to receiving the finished pair. And if my indecisiveness continues, there are free returns within 30 days of your order.

Speaking of glasses, have you heard all this buzz about Google Glass in the last few months? I’m not sure how I feel about having my smart phone in front of my eyes at all times. Google may have trouble making this technology seem normal; apparently someone has already coined the phrase “glasshole” to describe users. We’ll see, I guess. One thing’s for certain: the Ballard look a lot better with my new bangs.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bridget (Isabella) Currie permalink
    April 12, 2013 3:01 pm

    I think you should post pics of the new bangs & glasses! It’s fun to see what’s happening in your life. I wish we lived closer!

    • April 12, 2013 5:12 pm

      It would be very fun if we lived closer — our kids could play together while we reminisced about our glory days as track stars 🙂 So nice to hear from you. Love seeing pictures of your kids on Facebook. You have a beautiful family!

Leave a Reply

