Skip to content

Two ingredient cookies (almost)

March 30, 2013

I decided to try these healthy “two ingredient cookies” with some overripe bananas.  But, I couldn’t bring myself to stick to only two ingredients.  (Could baked bananas and oatmeal even be called cookies?) I figured some chocolate chips would be an appropriate enhancement.  And I couldn’t help myself:  I added a teaspoon of salt at the last minute because I had visions of blandness coming out of my oven.  But, 4 ingredients is still pretty amazing.   And no sugar, butter, eggs, milk, etc.

Image

I had some “help” with the project.  We used a small blender to mash the bananas (but your hands would do just as well.)

Image

And added the 1 cup of quick cooking oats.Image

And the chocolate chips.  At this point, we added more oats — a lot more.  I kept adding until the dough was thick enough to mold into cookie form.

Image

We rolled into cookies.

Image

And baked.  The finished product looked quite a bit like the beginning product, but with a little brown around the edges.

Image

The verdict?  For me:  so-so.  A little boring and quite banana-y.  But J loved them.  And if this qualifies as a  “cookie” for him, I’m all for it.

Image

The recipe — pretty simple:

Ingredients

  • 2 overripe bananas
  • 1 cup (plus more) quick cooking oats
  • Chocolate chips (or nuts or dried fruit)
  • 1 tsp salt.

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Mash bananas in large bowl.
  3. Mix in oats, salt, and anything else you want to add.
  4. Bake 12 – 15 minutes until edges start to brown.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

